My Wedding – and an Old-Fashioned Cream Pie Recipe

This weekend, I’m celebrating my anniversary with my husband, and one thing that’s more old-fashioned than the pie I’ll tell you how to make is the bragging I’m going to do!

I know I’m a baking blog, and wedding stuff belongs elsewhere, but I can’t help myself! I planned this wedding for over a year, worked tirelessly to get it together, and had one of the best florists and photographers I have ever seen. They deserve a little bragging!

Old-Fashioned Cream Pie by #FaustBakes

You may already know that my husband isn’t the biggest fan of cake, and I’m alright with that because I’m so picky about my cakes, that it was looking more and more like I’d have to bake our wedding cake! But that’s bad luck, did you know that? The good news is that we both love pie. The pies were a group effort, coming in from all sides of the family. I guess it was a B.Y.O.P. (bring your own pie) wedding!

But the most important pie was the old-fashioned cream pie. It’s my husbands favorite, and the pie that we chose to slice for the cutting ceremony. Below, I have the recipe for you to make probably the best old-fashioned cream pie I’ve ever tasted.

In the meantime, I’ll just fawn all over these photos. The information for my vendors can be found at the bottom of the post, if you’re interested in having them help you with one of your events.

For the Crust

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting

1/2 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces

2 tablespoons cold vegetable shortening

Directions

Pulse the flour and salt in a food processor or blender. Add the butter and shortening and pulse until the mixture looks like coarse meal with pea-size bits of butter. Drizzle in 3 tablespoons ice water and pulse until the dough begins to come together. If necessary, add more water 1/2 tablespoon at a time.

Remove the dough and place on a sheet of plastic wrap. Form dough into a disk, but do not overwork! Wrap tightly and refrigerate for at least 1 hour and up to 1 day before use.

For the Filling

Ingredients

2 cups heavy whipping cream

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces

1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and place a baking sheet on the middle oven rack.

Roll out dough into an 11-inch round on a lightly floured surface. Ease into a 9-inch pie plate. Fold the overhanging dough under itself and crimp the edges with your fingers. Pierce the bottom all over with a fork. Refrigerate the crust until firm, about 30 minutes.

Make the filling: Whisk the heavy whipping cream, sugar, flour and vanilla in a bowl. Pour into the chilled crust, dot with the butter and sprinkle the nutmeg on top. Carefully transfer the pie plate to the hot baking sheet and bake 10 minutes. Reduce the oven temperature to 350 degrees and continue baking until the crust is golden and the filling is bubbly in spots, about 55 more minutes (the center will still jiggle slightly). Transfer to a rack and let cool completely. Serve chilled or at room temperature. Top with whipped cream.

If the crust edges are browning too quickly, cover them with foil or crust shields.

Vendors

Flowers and wedding day coordination: Jamie Fairman – State and Arrow

Photos: Sara Babcock – Sweet Sarandipity

Music: Masters of Music

Venue: Frazier History Museum

Dress: Martina Liana

Leave a comment