Alcohol, Celebrating, Holidays, Savory

Independence Day Party Inspiration

Happy Fourth, y’all! For some reason, there’s nothing that gets my husband’s party bug more wound up than Independence Day. For the last several years, he’s invited over our friends, fired up the grill, and spent way too much money on fireworks. This year, we had an added bonus of a freshly installed fire pit (let me know if you all want to know how we built it!).

Since the Fourth of July is really a holiday made for the grill (an area that I have not mastered yet), I put all of my creative energies into the spread, the drinks and our outfits. I don’t have much to offer you this year, but I do have a couple of knock out party appetizers and drinks, plus some outfit inspiration to get you in the spirit!

Independence Day Party

The first treat I have for you all is one of my favorite alcoholic party drinks. Nothing says Fourth of July to me like lemonade and watermelons. This drink is a happy combination of all the best parts of summer, and will have guests lining up to grab a taste. It’s sweet, tart, seasonal, and the alcohol taste is very mild–but be careful! It packs quite the punch.

 

Patriotic Punch

Ingredients

2.84 L (3 quarts) lemonade

1 L (1 quart) vodka

.7 L (.75 quart) strawberry watermelon juice

1/4 watermelon, seeded and cubed, about 4 cups

1/2 clamshell strawberries, cored and quartered, about 1 to 1-1/2 cups

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a large pitcher or drink dispenser and let soak for at least one hour in the refrigerator. Add ice to pitcher before serving.

 

 

The next recipe I have for you is the biggest crowd pleaser I’ve made, and it might be even easier than the Patriotic Punch. It’s a recipe for simple meatballs, and it honestly couldn’t be anymore iconic for parties. There are lots of complicated recipes out there, and some that are just as easy as mine. I’m not re-inventing the wheel, here, but I get so many people asking for this recipe, I figure it might be worth sharing.

 

Easiest-peasiest Meatballs

Ingredients

70-ish frozen meatballs, classic recipe of whatever brand (the fewer spices and fixin’s, the better)

2 LB Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce, original recipe (the big bottle)

8 oz can of light beer (I tend to use Miller Light, but that’s because it tends to be on hand)

Directions

Put meatballs in a crockpot and cover completely with BBQ sauce. Add 2/3 of the beer to crock pot, and use the rest of the beer to remove any excess BBQ sauce from the bottle. Cook the meatballs on low for 8 hours or high for 4 hours.

The final recipe I have for you is so easy, but absolutely to die for! Like I said, the Fourth of July is all about the grill, so here’s my one contribution to the grill. Grilled corn is pretty simple, but believe or not, it’s not something my family was familiar with until about a year ago! At this point, I’m not sure how we made it so long without it–it’s practically a staple for us now.

This recipe isn’t too innovative–it’s similar to a Mexican corn, but more mild. I find it fits in with most grilled dinners without overpowering the main dish. This recipe has a Ranch base, which makes it smooth and flavorful. It’s absolutely addicting!

Now, I do need to clarify that what is pictured is not Ranch Corn. We had boiled corn and New Mexico Corn, and unfortunately, all of the Ranch Corn was snatched up before I was able to take some pictures. Maybe I’ll come back and update this post the next time I make some!

 

Ranch Corn

Ingredients

6 ears shucked corn

1/2 cup melted butter

1 packet Ranch salad dressing dry mix

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon salt & pepper

Directions

In a medium-sized bowl, combine butter, dressing mix, paprika, and salt and pepper. Set aside.

Grill cleaned corn on a smoking-hot grill for about 10 minutes on each side, or until the kernels are soft. While corn is still hot, generously brush Ranch mixture over corn. Serve immediately.

 

Now here’s something I’m excited to branch into! I love fashion, and nothing gets my celebrating-soul more excited than coordinating an outfit to an occasion. I’ve rounded up a few fun pieces that show off your patriotic side but that are subtle enough to reuse in your wardrobe. I hope you like it!

july party 15

Eyelet Red Shorts. White Keds. Classic Style.

And I can’t forget about the men in my life! Haha!

Yes, that is an America shirt where all the letters are food paired with a stunning pair of shorts that look like the American flag. Oh, and then an adorable puppy.

This is all I have for you this Independence Day. For more Fourth-y fun, check out the post I did last year for Start-Spangled Angel Food Pancakes or follow the link below. Again, let me know if you want to see the DIY breakdown of our fire pit. Do you all dig the fashion inspiration? Let me know!

Delicious Dealings, friends!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

