Celebrating, Chocolate, Holidays

‘Hocus Pocus’ Booook Brownies & a Drinking Game

Happy Halloween! It’s finally  here. There are ghosts and goblins running up and down my street as I type! Leaves are crunching under foot. Jack O’Lanterns are lit. So as my last Halloween post, I decided to do an homage to my favorite Halloween movie of all time, “Hocus Pocus.”

I have been watching this movie every year for as long as I can remember. If you haven’t seen the film yet, I highly recommend it. Honestly, I’m not sure how you managed to not see it–TV stations play it non-stop around Halloween. And occasionally around Easter, too!

#hocuspocus #faustbakes #halloween

For those who don’t know, these brownies are modeled after Winifred’s spell book given to her by the devil himself! It’s supposedly bound in human skin, which my husband told me makes it a necronomicon. So I guess that would make these brownies om-nomicons. HA! I’m sorry, I had to say it!

#hocuspocus #faustbakes #halloween

These brownies would fall into my category of Cheater, Cheater recipes, since it took no baking skills or artistic talent to create! And while I’m very proud that anyone can make these brownies in less than an hour, I also feel like I’m cutting my Halloween post short. So to beef it up a little, I’ll include the drinking game I use for watching this movie every year.

The rules are pretty simple, but very effective. I got them from this blog, but had to modify them a little. Momma Garvin parties too hard for me, I guess! The modified rules are as follows:

Take One Drink Every Time:

Winifred calls for her “Boooook!”

Mary smells a child

Sarah loses focus

Billy Butcherson loses a body part

Thackary Binx loses a life

Additional Rules:

The entire group must finish their glass during the “I Put a Spell on You” performance.

Anytime someone in the group starts to chug their beer, everyone must chime in saying, “Amok! Amok! Amok!” The last one to catch on has to take a drink.

“Damn, Damn, Double Damn!” is the only curse word allowed during the game. If anyone says anything else, they have to take a drink.

If you end up taking three drinks in a row due to breaking rules, you have to say, “I’m gonna puuuuuuuke!” If someone in the group catches you not saying this, you have to take another drink.

Anytime someone misquotes the movie, they have to wear a witch hat until it gets passed to the next misquote-er. When the movie is over, the last person wearing the witch hat has to shotgun a beer and finish by saying, “The witches are dead. My soul is finally free!”

#hocuspocus #faustbakes #halloween

“Boooooook!”

Here’s a printable version of the original drinking game for you.

Okay, now that we’re good and liquored up, let’s make some om-nomicons!

So the mix that I used for this recipe, I chose for a few specific reasons. I chose the kind that form the thin, flaky chocolate crust on top to lend to the look of a skin book–all cracked and damaged. I also wanted a brownie that would remain fudge-y to ensure they’d hold their shape after being cut. Those things aside, you can technically use any brownie recipe you’d like!

You’ll need:

1 box Pillsbury Milk Chocolate brownie mix

2/3 cup oil

1/4 cup water

2 eggs

1 jar dark fudge frosting

1 package eye candy sprinkles, like these

Directions:

Bake brownies as indicated on packaging. To ensure a thick brownie, bake in a 9×9-inch baking lined with parchment paper and sprayed with non-stick spray. 

Once completely cooled, remove the brownies from the pan and cut into rectangular shapes.

#faustbakes #halloween #hocuspocus #boooook

Using a piping bag fitting with a 4 or 5 tip, pipe a small dot of fudge frosting near the right-hand side of the brownies where the eye will be attached.  Next, pipe a line down the left-hand side of the brownie, and punctuate it with several small, intersecting lines. This mimics the spine. Circle the eye of the book.

In the two corners of the book that aren’t yet decorated, there coiled snakes. If working with a smaller piping tip/more patience, you can pipe a figure 8 with a line coming through it. Or you can just pipe some squiggles, and it’ll look just as good!

nomicon-8

And seriously, guys, that’s it! I’m not sure what took me so long to do these, but I’m so glad I did. They really pack a wow factor at parties, and it takes no time at all! 

I hope you all have a fantastic Halloween and that you get a chance to use this hilariously fun drinking game. If nothing else, I hope you get lots of tasty treats. Delicious dealings, friends!

Standard

Leave a Reply

