#faustbakes #halloween #cookies
Uncategorized

Graveyard Dirt Cookies with Peanut Butter

Cookies have never been my specialty. I have very few recipes for cookies, and the ones I do have are strict classics–chocolate chip, oatmeal, shortbread. My sister is a fantastic cookie maker, so I’ve never needed to be good.

These babies, though! I am so proud of these little clumps of dark chocolate dirt. These guys are all mine! Nothing made me happier than when I handed my sister one of these chocolate-peanut butter cookies and saw her eyes light up like a Jack-o-lantern!

#faustbakes #halloween #cookies

Okay, okay, so I guess I shouldn’t say they’re all mine. I did modify them from a white-chocolate chip cookie recipe from Hershey’s. But when you want to make sure your recipe is going to turn out right, you go to the best!

I got the idea for this cookie from that cult classic favorite of dunking Oreo cookies in peanut butter. The flavor profile is really addicting, and I wanted to make a cookie with a similar profile, but with less mess.

#faustbakes #halloween #cookies

So let me tell you what’s in this graveyard dirt. You’ve got the dirt, of course (dark chocolate dough), bits of bone (white chocolate chips), and chunks of coffin (peanut butter chips). You know, the usual handful of cemetery stuff.

Both white chocolate and peanut butter are notoriously creamy, and add a level of dreaminess to this cookie that regular chocolate chips could not. The dark chocolate dough takes away some of the intense sweetness that both the peanut butter and white chocolate pack in each bite. The sprinkles on top, which are optional, add a fantastic crunch, which really breaks up the consistent soft, doughy texture of the cookie.

To put it simply, they’re to die for!

Another reason I love this recipe is the amount of cookies it makes. This recipe pumps out anywhere from 27-54 cookies, depending on the size of the dough balls you create. I used a 1 tablespoon disher to make my cookies and wound up with 54 of these babies! Even still, they haven’t lasted very long around my house, which I think is a great sign!

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

3/4 cup dark Hershey’s cocoa

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups butter, softened

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup peanut butter chips

1 cup white chocolate chips

Halloween sprinkles (optional)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium-sized bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl of an electric mixer, beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla. Slowly add flour mixture a bit at a time to the egg mixture, making sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl before adding a new portion. Once fully incorporated, fold in the white chocolate and peanut butter chips, making sure to spread them out thoroughly.

Use a 1 tablespoon disher to drop dollops of the dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Before putting them in the oven, dust the tops of the dough dollops with sprinkles. Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes. Be sure not to over bake! The cookies will puff up while baking and flatten as they cool.

I’m telling you, these cookies will be the fan favorite of any Halloween bash. My husband doesn’t even like peanut butter, and I can’t get him to stop eating these cookies. Speaking of, I’m going to go grab one before he eats them all. Delicious dealings, friends!

Standard

One thought on “Graveyard Dirt Cookies with Peanut Butter

Leave a Reply

