#faustbakes #yum
Cakes, Chocolate, Frostings

Cheater, Cheater Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

Mmmm, chocolate and peanut butter. No better culinary combination exists. We’ve been mashing it up in our candies, our cakes, our waffles for decades, and really, who am I to monkey with tradition?

So what makes my Cheater, Cheater recipe so great? This bad boy is bakery quality–I’m talking moist, soft, packed crumb paired with a smooth, light, palate-pleasing frosting that has an unmistakeable yet non-overwhelming peanut butter flavor. To put it simply, this cake is a God-send.

#faustbakes #yum

I know what you’re wondering now: why call it Cheater, Cheater? Because, dear friends, this cake starts from a box cake mix! Yes, I am no hater of the dreaded box cake. In fact, readers of my blog will know that I frequently rely on box cakes to get high-volume yield done quickly, like in my Valentine’s Day post. Still, I can’t leave well enough alone, and I do modify every box cake I use.

I have to warn you about this frosting: it is highly addictive. My family and I were eating it by the spoonful! We literally could not stop. It’s partially the reason the cake I’ve made for you today is naked (womp, womp). I used this same frosting on my sister’s birthday cake earlier this year. It was the grass around the base of her cake, and I kid you not, we licked that plate clean–scraped off every bit of this frosting.

Okay. Now that you’ve been warned, I think it’s about time to get to this recipe. I’m drooling over here just thinking about it!

 

For the cake:

Ingredients:

1 box chocolate cake mix (Duncan Hines)

1 cup flour

1 cup baking cocoa

1 cup sour cream

1 cup sugar

1 pinch of salt

3 large eggs

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 cup water

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 325 degrees. In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients making sure to break up and large clumps of mix, and then set aside.

In a separate bowl, combine water, eggs, sour cream, water and oil. Mix well. Slowly add wet mixture to dry mixture while beating on medium speed with either a hand mixer or stand mixer.

Once well-combined, divide evenly into 2 greased 8 inch pans. Bake from 25-30 minutes, or until you can insert a toothpick into the center of the cakes and it come out cleanly.

 

For the frosting:

Ingredients:

1 cup unsalted butter, softened to room temperature

3-4 cups powdered sugar

2 cups smooth peanut butter

Directions:

Beat butter in a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment until light and fluffy. The color will also change to a soft yellow. Reduce speed and add 1 cup of the peanut butter. Mix until combined. Alternate between peanut butter and powdered sugar until well combined. Whip at a high speed for 5 minutes before finishing.

Assemble the cake by coating the top of a cooled cake layer generously with the frosting. Sprinkle mini chocolate chips on top. Add another cake layer and repeat. There you have it. A very simple, very dangerous chocolate peanut butter cake guaranteed to keep you coming back for more. Delicious dealings, friends!

Standard

Leave a Reply

