Hobbit Honey Cake #faustbakes
Cakes, Coffee

Hobbit Honey Cake

Woah, I definitely did not mean to take a month-long hiatus from this site! Logically, I could tell you that this chunk of time is when all the things happen in my family–birthdays, anniversaries–and that even more things happen in my hometown–the Derby, Oaks–but really, all that stuff was pretty much over by the beginning of May. So I guess I’ll just have to an extend a heartfelt apology.

Oh, and this cake!

Hobbit Honey Cake #faustbakes

I’ve noticed you all seem to really enjoy my themed posts, especially those that connect back to pop culture in some way. I’ve been dying to make a hobbit-themed post (especially second breakfast themed), but couldn’t find a recipe that felt right. After several trial and error attempts, I have created this honey cake perfect for a hobbit’s second breakfast!

This honey cake is a modified coffee cake, which means that it’s crumb is thick and packed tightly together. You really do need something to wash it down, but rather than coffee, I’d recommend tea. This cake has a sweet, strong taste of natural honey, and with a couple sips of Earl Grey, oh man! It’s not a surprise this cake didn’t last long around my house.

As I said, the star of this cake is really the honey flavor. When choosing the honey you’re going to use, I highly recommend going local for many reasons.

  1. Local honey is good for your allergies (which, in Louisville, we all could use some help with)
  2. The closer to the farm you buy your honey, the better it tastes-it has a sweeter, almost floral taste, and even the texture is a bit smoother.

You can pick up honey at local farmer’s markets, and there’s usually a Mom-and-Pop-type grocery that will carry local brands. In the bigger Kroger’s, I’ve even seen them there on occasion.

One last thing on this cake! I used a 6 inch springform pan, and while it made the most darling cake, I don’t think I’d recommend using this type of pan unless you’re very seasoned with them. I’m not sure if it was just this cake or if it was me, but it gave me a hell of a time! First it wouldn’t bake all the way through, then it burned, then it got ripped apart–this final attempt was my last straw!

Well, because a hobbit’s tummy waits for no one, let’s get started!

Crumbs

Ingredients

1 cup + 3 tbsp all-purpose flour

1/3 cup light brown sugar

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter, melted

pinch of cinnamon

 

Cake

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup greek yogurt

1/2 cup local honey

 

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

Grease and line with parchment paper a 9 by 9-inch cake pan and set aside.

In a medium-sized bowl, combine the dry ingredients for the crumbs. Pour the melted butter into the mixture and stir until fully incorporated. Slowly add flour, pausing to mix the flour in completely, until no streaks of flour remain. Set aside.

Combine baking powder, baking soda, flour and salt in a medium-sized bowl and set aside. In a separate bowl, whip together butter and sugar until butter is light and fluffy. Mix in the egg and vanilla.

In a small-ish bowl, whisk together milk, honey and greek yogurt until fully incorporated. Add small portions of the dry and wet mixtures to the whipped butter, making sure to alternate between the two. When it has just combined, stop mixing!

Pour the batter into the prepared cake pan and spread to an even layer. Break crumb mixture into haphazardly-shaped pea-sized pieces and drop evenly over the batter. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out cleanly.

To finish the cake, sprinkle the top with a bit of brown and regular sugar.

There you have it! A very simple, very delicious cake fit for any second breakfast. It’s crackled sides and crumbly top are sure to fit right in on the tabletop in any hobbit’s home. As always, delicious dealings, friends!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Hobbit Honey Cake

  1. noseinabook62 says:

    Hello! I just found your blog, and I’m a big fan already! I’m actually already thinking about making this honey cake for a tea party I’ll be throwing closer to the end of summer. Everything looks super good, but I was wondering if you used Greek yogurt for any reason specifically in this recipe. I usually don’t have Greek yogurt around, but I almost always have regular/vanilla yogurt in the fridge. Would it be a terrible idea to use that instead?

    • gofaustgo says:

      Greek yogurt has a different consistency than traditional yogurt–much thicker. I wouldn’t recommend subbing that out, but sour cream would work just as well!

Leave a Reply

